A new remedy for Alice

A new remedy for Alice arrived in the post yesterday. At our second Homeopathy review meeting last week, Elaine confirmed that the previous remedy Psorinium had not helped Alice’s eczema. That remedy was chosen as it is effective for hereditary forms of eczema. She now thinks it is time to try another remedy that is matched with Alice’s personality and symptoms. The new remedy is Lachesis and she is to take one 30c tablet daily for 5 days. Then we wait for a week and if there is improvement we take one 200c tablet. It would freak my husband out if I told him that it was derived from snake venom (I know he is not religiously reading my posts!). Aside from that snippet, I don’t think I will get too bogged down this time in researching the remedy to analyse whether I agree that it matches Alice’s personality traits. I’m just relieved that if it is going to work we should see an improvement in the next couple of weeks.

Alice and I were away visiting friends over the weekend and the eczema on her face was a little better which was great. Before we stopped using the steroids, I felt that I was chasing the eczema around her body with the ointment. Now after 9 weeks of no steroid ointments, I am realising that it does just move around. All around her eyes and eyelids were bad a few weeks ago, last week it moved down to her cheeks. Some areas such as her neck seem to be continuously flared, while behind her knees fade slightly then and then come back with a vengeance. Even though her neck is quite bad just now, it is lovely to see her shining eyes again and it means her eczema isn’t so immediately obvious when we meet up with people. I had been wondering if there was a pattern forming whereby her skin improved when she was at home with us at the weekend and worsened again during the week when she is in childcare. But I did notice this weekend that skin was more irritated on Monday when she was with me and it looked a bit better when I picked her up from nursery on Tuesday, which was a pleasant surprise.

This weekend we have our first appointment with a dermatologist. I’m not sure what to expect (apart from a reprimand for not applying the steroid creams). We want some allergy testing to be scheduled but hopefully he can also provide some additional insight into her skin condition and will offer some useful advise to help us manage it.

Skin today: Face and neck appear to be slightly better than they have, of late but both became really flared before bed. Alice had no nap today and was going into meltdown by bedtime. Other areas; wrists elbow and knee creases more irritated that usual.

2 thoughts on “A new remedy for Alice

  1. eczemaexcellence

    Psorinum didn’t work for me either, but maybe because I’m withdrawing from topical steroids and it wasn’t “true” eczema. Keep us posted on the new remedy, will be very curious if you start seeing improvement. Funny how it is derived from snake venom – – The homeopath that I saw wanted to try me on Rhus Tox which is derived from poison ivy!! I hope the new remedy helps Alice!

    Reply
    1. goingnaturalmum Post author

      Eczemaexcellence, I’m trying not to get too excited as it may well just be a coincidence, but her neck and face look the best they have in weeks. Here’s hoping for more healing over the weekend x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

