Natural goodies for dry skin

Image

We’re now into the eighth week of no topical steroid use on our three year old daughter’s eczema. When we decided to give homeopathy a try I knew that it wasn’t going to be an instant fix and went in to it expecting that it would take some time before we saw positive results. I wasn’t prepared to be asked to stop using steroidal creams on Alice’s skin during the treatment. Although our uneasiness in using steroids was a main motivator in our decision to try homeopathy, we hadn’t anticipated going cold turkey.

I immediately started researching natural skin care products and Bria Organic Balm has been our staple “steroid replacement” since Week 2. It’s few ingredients include chickweed, sunflower oil, borage oil, beeswax, jojoba oil and rosehip oil (all organic). The lable reads: “Borage oil replenishes, rosehip repairs, chickweed cools and helps sooth the itch while beeswax protects”. Alice’s skin had been flaring badly and the improvement was quite dramatic in the week that we started using Bria balm. I was convinced that we had got her eczema under control. Okay, so I was being a little premature – we’ve had a few tough weeks since, but for the most part Bria Balm has been an essential part of Alice’s new skin care regime. I was home visiting my family in Ireland and both my sister and brother who have dry skin patches applied a little Bria balm and found it very soothing. I considered ordering an extra little pot for each for them this week but at £12 for 60mls (£18 for 120ml), it’s not cheap!

My first order of Pure Potions Skin Salvation moisturising ointment (£18.99 for 120ml) arrived today. I’m considering using this for a while instead of the Bria balm. Alice’s skin condition hasn’t been great in the last couple of weeks so I thought it might be worth trying something else. However, I’ve become quiet reliant on Bria, so ordered it too just in case! Skin Salvation also has lovely organic ingredients. It was recommended by another blogger who is studying homeopathy and has a sister with eczema. I like that calendula is one of the ingredients as I want to try it on Alice’s skin. The leaflet recommends a 24hr patch test so I applied just a tiny amount today. I am actually going to hold off for few days though as Alice’s skin seems to be going through a rare bout of healing and I don’t want to interfere with that. I’m not getting carried away with optimism as the last two months have shown themselves to be a bit of a roller coaster ride. After her skin taking a major turn for the worse this week, her right wrist has suddenly shown signs of healing for the fist time in 3/4 months. Fingers and toes crossed!!

Leave a Reply

